Nobel Prize Winners 2008

I always like reading about each year’s Nobel Laureates.

The Nobel Prize Winners announced last week and today are:

Physiology or Medicine
Harald zur Hausen, for his discovery of “human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer”
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and
Luc Montagnier, for their discovery of the “human immunodeficiency virus” (click here to watch a PBS Frontline video about it)

Yoichiro Nambu, “for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics”
Makoto Kobayashi and
Toshihide Maskawa, “for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature”

Chemistry – “for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP” (isolated from jellyfish)
Osamu Shimomura
Martin Chalfie
Roger Y. Tsien

Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio, French writer of more than 40 books

Martti Ahtisaari, former President of Finland who is knowsn for his peace efforts and cautious diplomacy (particularly in Africa)

Economic Sciences
Paul Krugman (MIT PhD ’77), “for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity”

I’ll have to see if I can get a copy of one of Le Clézio’s books and Paul Krugman’s The Return of Depression Economics (click here to read an excerpt and click here to view the table of contents) or any of his other books at my local library.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s